First Year Ambassador Program

The First Year Ambassador program, also known as FYA program, teaches students the structure of the Student Government Association (SGA) at UMBC. It is SGA’s year-long leadership development program that is open to freshmen and first year transfer students. Furthermore, it teaches students how to take advantage of the agency that they have on campus and how to properly navigate fixing any problem that they may identify. This program also introduces students to campus partners that can assist with programming, frames the historical context of initiatives launched by students, and elevates students to student leaders.

A key aspect of the program is the opportunity to shadow both elected and appointed officers in two bodies of the organization, the Legislative and Executive Branches. As a First Year Ambassador, you will have the opportunity to sit in on meetings, assist the officers in their work, and plan events that are large in scale.


Questions? Contact our Associate Director:

Kayla Hegbe

Associate Director of First Year Engagement

2022-23 First Year Ambassadors:

Agnes Koodaly

Aishwarya Harikrishnan

AJ Sanchez

Alberta Nlende Ndille

Alejandra Leon

Alona Harris 

Ansa Zakriya

Ayomide Dada

Ayomide Oduwole

Dhruti Sheth

Elijah Gendleman

Emmanuella Osei

Ethan Stubbs

Faith Beander 

Farrell Kimble

Frank Rodriguez

Gbemisola Akinjo

Grace Khai

Hira Khan

Hiya Patel

Jadyn Lewis

Jileen De Guzman 

Jordan Wandja Petnji

Julia Gebretatiyos

Marry-Anne Njoya

Nifemi Oyejide

Ruby Gonzalez Ramirez

Sarah Jawara

Sethu Gokulakrishnan

Shanell Bush 

Toirat (Bolu) Ajose

Vicky Ancheta

Zainab Seriki