Skip to Main Content

Dance Rehearsal Space Updates

Information on new available spaces

March 13, 2019 9:24 AM
The following is a message from Campus Life and SGA. For more information, questions, or concerns, please contact Campus Life at schedule@umbc.edu

Good afternoon,

Campus Life and SGA are pleased to announce that starting after Spring Break 2019, The Commons Lower Flat Tuesdays will be piloting open dance rehearsal on select dates! During these times, Lower Flat Tuesdays will be cleared of furniture and mirrors will be set up to aid in your rehearsals. Upper Flat Tuesdays has also been reserved as a waiting area during these rehearsal times. Please see below for an overview of usage guidelines. A complete, printable list is also linked here.

To promote equitable access to the space, please limit your group’s reservation of the space to a total of no more than 2 hours per day and 4 hours per week. Use of the space is first-come-first-serve and is reservable using this Google Calendar. You may only reserve these appointments if your group will be in the space. Groups with repeated “no-shows” will receive follow-up from our offices. 

If your group requires additional rehearsal time, you are welcome to “drop in” when the space is open per the Google calendar. “Drop in” rehearsals cannot keep others from using the space, and groups with reservations have priority in using the space. Commons Operation Staff are available to help clarify usage guidelines and confirm who has access to the space.  Their office is located behind The Campus Information Center (CiC) in the main lobby of The Commons.

Lower Flat Tuesdays is a smaller space, so please be mindful of safety. To avoid damage to the mirrors or the space, please do not move the mirrors yourself. To have the mirrors moved, please stop by the CiC and ask for Commons Operations. There will be no fees associated with using the space; however, your group must provide your own sound equipment. As Commons is a food-service building, appropriate footwear and clothing must be worn at all times. 

Main Street and other regularly used spaces will remain reservable! If Lower Flat Tuesdays does not completely satisfy your group’s needs, you are still welcome to request these spaces through 25Live.

We know that finding spaces for dance rehearsals has been challenging, and we want you to know that we are working on multiple sustainable solutions, including these time slots. Our office will be using the rest of this semester to pilot this program, so please provide feedback using this Google Form!

If you have any questions, please email schedule@umbc.edu!  

Without further ado, here are the open rehearsal times and dates!

Available rehearsal dates

Location

Open

Close

Monday, March 25, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

7:30pm

11pm

Thursday, March 28, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm

Sunday, March 31, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

12pm

10pm

Monday, April 01, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

8:30pm

11pm

Thursday, April 04, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm

Sunday, April 07, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

12pm

10pm

Monday, April 08, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm

Thursday, April 11, 2019

Unavailable

-

-

Sunday, April 14, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

12pm

10pm

Monday, April 15, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm

Sunday, April 21, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

12pm

10pm

Monday, April 22, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm

Thursday, April 25, 2019

Unavailable

-

-

Sunday, April 28, 2019

Unavailable

-

-

Thursday, May 02, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm

Sunday, May 05, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

12pm

10pm

Monday, May 06, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm

Thursday, May 09, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

7pm

11pm

Sunday, May 12, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

12pm

10pm

Monday, May 13, 2019

Lower Flat Tuesdays

6pm

11pm