Skip to Main Content

2017 SGA Election Results

April 29, 2017 9:09 PM
To all UMBC Community Members:

Attached are the results of the 2017 Student Government Association election. (Go to the bottom of this post and click "download document.")

Over the three days of the election (April 17-19), 1,235 unique students cast their ballot.    

The names of the elected candidates for the 2017-2018 academic year are as follows:

President: Joshua Massey
Executive Vice President: Markya Reed
Vice President for Student Organizations: Meghan Lynch
Treasurer: Hannah Sadollah

Manisha Vepa
Gerardo Herrera-Cortes
Malakhi Hopkins
Tristan Mountcastle
Lilly Keplinger
Vincent Cheon
Felix Facchine
Pat Michael
Nitya Kumaran
Amritansh Rastogi
Shiv Patel

Finance Board Representatives:
Daniel Wang
Saya Daremipouran
Carly Socha
Fayo Ojo
Feyi Ojo

The Election Board (including Chair Sophia Lopresti and members Jessica Willis, Benjamin Straube, Jethro Ssengonzi, Rachael Sanchez, Sriniti Jayaram, Bhuvana Khotnana, and Evan Avila) would like to thank Collier Jones, who built new functionality into MyUMBC to allow SGA to implement its Instant Runoff System for the first time; Trisha Wells, who hosted this year's ballot on MyUMBC, Laura Schraven and the Commonvision team for assistance with publicizing the election; Simon Reilly and Commons Operations and Administration; Mark Satter, editor-in-chief of The Retriever Weekly; the Residential Life staff; the current SGA administration, including President Bentley Corbett; Student Life; Interim Director Jen Dress and Assistant Director of Student Life for Civic Agency David Hoffman. 

All of SGA's new officers will be inaugurated on Monday, May 15th on the Commons Terrace at Noon. A picnic lunch will be provided to the campus community. Their terms will begin on May 15th at 6:00 p.m.

Thanks again to all who participated and assisted with this year's election process.