Skip to Main Content

Tentative Candidate List for the 2017 SGA Election

Get familiar with this year's candidates!

March 27, 2017 5:38 PM

Below is a list of the students who submitted applications to run for SGA positions in the April election. This list is preliminary and not final (the names listed below will be checked for eligibility and may appear differently on the ballot, including their order).

All candidates must receive a number of votes equal to at least 5% of the number of total votes cast in the election. Candidates for the executive positions are elected by the Instant Runoff system, while candidates for Senate and Finance Board are elected by plurality. The top eleven vote receiving candidates will be elected to Senate. The top five vote receiving candidates will be elected to Finance Board. Write-in votes are permitted in SGA elections.

The election will take place through myUMBC on Monday April 17th, Tuesday April 18th, and Wednesday April 19th.

More information, including candidate profiles and scheduled Election Board-sponsored campaign events, will be posted soon.

All candidates will receive an e-mail message from the Election Board Chair with information about mandatory candidate information sessions and other important information.

President (3 candidates, 1 available position):

Collin Sullivan (Running Mate: Chiamaka Ugboh)

Joshua Massey (Running Mate: Markya Reed)

Richard DeShay Elliott (Running Mate: Maheen Haq)

Executive Vice President (3 candidates, 1 available position):

Chiamaka Ugboh (Running Mate: Collin Sullivan)

Markya Reed (Running Mate: Joshua Massey)

Maheen Haq (Running Mate: Richard DeShay Elliott)

Vice President for Student Organizations (3 candidates, 1 available position):

Jamie Brekosky

Lin DasSarma

Meghan Lynch

Treasurer (1 candidate, 1 available position):

Hannah Sadollah

Finance Board Representative (10 candidates, 5 available positions):

Asiyeh Daremipouran

Nikki Donboli

Jabari McLain

Fayokemi Ojo

Feyisanmi Ojo

Theresa Sheets

Yasser Siddiqui

Carly Socha

Crhistian Vasquez

Daniel Wang

Senator (27 candidates, 11 available positions):
Irene Azurmendi

Julia Byrne

Vincent Cheon

Felix Facchine

Donovan Garrett

Les Gray

Malcolm Heflin

Gerardo Herrera-Cortes

Malakhi Hopkins

William Hoxie

Lillianne Keplinger

Nitya Kumaran

Jonathan Lessels

Brendan Martin

Pat Michael

Tristan Mountcastle

Shiv Patel

Jaimee Pineda

Natalie Puig

Amritansh Rastogi

Nirav Shah

Nate Stewart

Wouhib Tamrat

Emily Thomas

Lucas Tiderman

Maria Tono

Manisha Vepa

2 Comments (requires login)